And so it begins…

I started my (semi) Paleo lifestyle about two weeks ago.  I was never a skinny girl, never ever a size 0, and always struggled with my weight (wow, I probably sound like 95% of the female population right now!).  I enjoy running and I absolutely LOVE yoga, but I also love to eat.  I was in pretty good shape for my wedding in 2010 and then married life began and it was all downhill from there… Ordering Chinese take-out for those cold winter nights by the fireplace because that was oh so romantic, eating ice cream straight from the Ben & Jerry’s pint, munching on some kettle cooked chips while watching T.V. at night.  Needless to say, it really affected my health and physical appearance.

So, I re-joined a gym in 2011.  I was ready and pumped to lose the weight.  I became obsessed again with group fitness classes and loved going to spin, yoga, Zumba, and running again.  But, I never changed my diet.  I didn’t work out religiously either.  So….. as you can guess… I didn’t lose ANY weight.  I maintained my weight and it fluctuated a pound or two, but nothing major happened.

Here I am in 2012.  I recently re-joined a gym that is close to home (I was going to one near work, but recently switched jobs).  Again, got so excited for the classes and getting back into my fitness routine.  Still didn’t change my diet.  One day, I woke up, got on the scale, saw that I had lost 0.3 lbs and was just fed up with myself.  Something had to change.

I’ve heard a lot about the Paleo diet, but never really got into it.  I don’t like fad diets.  Heck, I don’t like diets at all.  Who enjoys starving themselves or eating like a rabbit?  Or how about the hunger pains in your stomach while you’re staring at that leftover cake in the pantry at work saying “EAT ME”.  Your mind says no, but your tummy says yes.  The best thing about the Paleo diet is that you eat until you are full.  It guides you towards the appropriate foods that are good for you and also satiable.  It teaches you the difference between the good fats and the bad fats.  It describes how the typical American diet has evolved into highly processed items and sugary drinks and sweets – which in turn has linked to the high obesity rates in the U.S.  Another thing that was super fascinating was the point that many people nowadays are lactose intolerant, gluten intolerant, and have peanut allergies.  Maybe we should really cut those items out of our diet if our bodies were not made to accept these foods.  Hmmm…Something to think about.

But I’m going to stop because I’m not here to lecture you on the Paleo diet.  There are plenty of resources out there for that (thank you Google!).  But I’m here to share my journey with you and more importantly, the wonderful and simple recipes from my kitchen to yours.  Enjoy!!!

3 thoughts on “And so it begins…

Leave a Reply

