Chocolate chip scones… say no more

Have I told you that I have a HUGE sweet tooth?  Well, I do.  I love chocolate.  I love cake.  I love cupcakes.  I love ice cream.  I love candy.  I’m the only one of my siblings that has this serious addiction to SUGAR.  When my mom was pregnant with me, she went through a whole baking phase — she learned how to make homemade cakes for her and my father to enjoy.  I wonder how many cakes she consumed while she was pregnant with me… but anyway, I blame my addiction on her, hehe 🙂

I finally made a trip to Trader Joe’s to pick up some essential items.  Another thing about this whole Paleo thing is that it gets crazy expensive!  I refuse to make trips to Whole Foods because…. just because they are ridiculously overpriced.   So I go to Trader Joe’s, hoping that they will have what I need.  I picked up a package of their almond meal – similar to almond flour, but not as fine.  Only $3.99 for a lb!  (Seems expensive for a baking item and especially when compared to flour, but this is a pretty good price as almond flour can cost about $8 a lb)

The chocolate chip scone was the perfect mixture of sweet and salty.  I tried it right when it came out of the oven.  YUM.

Note: The best way to keep leftover almond meal is to put it into an airtight container and freeze.

Bjorn gives this: 2 thumbs down – it tasted too healthy for him.  Here’s how our conversation went:

Bjorn comes home from work, starving for dinner, grabs the tupperware container with the chocolate chip scones.

B: **Chewing**

Me: Do you like it?? It’s so good isn’t it???

B: No, it’s gross! What is that? Why is it so salty?

Me: Sigh…

Of course I enjoyed it and I’m sure you will, too.  I just love his reaction to some of the stuff that I’ve been making… 🙂

Chocolate Chip Scones

Makes 16

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups almond meal
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips (recommend using at least 70% cacao)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine almond meal, salt, and baking soda. In another bowl, whisk together coconut oil, honey, eggs, and vanilla.
  3. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix until well combined. Fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Drop batter on pan using an ice cream scoop.  Keep the scoops about 2 inches apart on the baking sheet.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.
  6. DEVOUR!

Leave a Reply

