A little taste of Europe

There are certain foods in life that I cannot give up completely… ice cream, chocolate, NUTELLA (just to name a few). Yes, I know these items are highly processed and loaded with sugar, but every once in awhile is okay for me.  There is a recipe for Paleo ice cream which I’ll try someday in the future, but for now, I love a bite of the real stuff every now and then.

So back to Nutella.  I’m not sure when this addiction started.  Maybe it was when my aunt and her sons visited from Germany for the first time when I was young.  They bought a jar of Nutella from our local grocery store as a little reminder of home.  The first taste of this amazing elixir was divine.  Chocolate.  Hazelnuts.  Chocolate.  More chocolate.  I was hooked.

My younger sis, Tiffany, who’s in college right now, keeps on sending me pictures of her meals at school (dining hall food has really evolved… the food looks edible nowadays, haha).  I guess there’s a dining hall that does Crepe night every Thursday and she has sent a picture for the past two Thursdays…. Delicious crepes with sweet fruit fillings and topped with whipped cream.  This kicked in my first craving for crepes and well, who doesn’t love a Nutella filled crepe?! (This recipe below is obviously not Paleo)

I thought this was pretty good, though I’ll never know until I try the real thing in France (nudge nudge to Bjorn).

Crepe with Nutella and banana filling

Ingredients

Crepe Batter

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/8 cup of water
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • Butter

Filling

  • Nutella
  • 1 banana, sliced
  1. Whisk the egg, milk, water, and vanilla together in a bowl.  Add the flour and sugar and whisk to combine. Cover and place the batter in the fridge for an hour.
  2. In a crepe pan (or skillet) over medium to high heat, add some butter and swirl around.  Once the pan is heated, add the batter and swirl the pan around to create a thin layer of batter on the pan.  Cook for about 30 seconds and then flip to the other side for another 30 seconds.
  3. Remove from heat.
  4. Spread a nice coating of Nutella and top with sliced bananas.  Fold the crepe in half and then into fourths.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar.
  5. Use the rest of the batter to make some crepes for your friends and family! (or for yourself, hehe!)

Leave a Reply

