A dinner consumed in 5 minutes

I don’t even know where to begin with this post.  I just have too many yummy food thoughts running through my mind.

Okay, let’s backtrack to Sunday where I had a wonderful afternoon with one of my good buddies, Lindsey, out in the city!  She moved there about a month ago and we finally found some time to get together – we had three goals in mind – EAT, SHOP, and GOSSIP.  Perfect girl afternoon, right?  I got into Grand Central and was starving, so my words basically were… “Lindsey, I don’t care what we do today, but we need to eat first.”  Being the awesome foodie she is, she knew exactly where to go.

So, we walked a few blocks downtown to 33rd and cut across a couple of avenues to 3rd and met our destination: Bareburger.  I loved that this place served grass-fed beef, free-range chicken, and organic and natural products.  I had the Bareburger Supreme with beef and I ate it slowly so I could savor every single bite.

I got it on the brioche bun, which was amazing, but what really makes a burger is 1) the meat and 2) the toppings/pairings.  Also, had it with pear cider…. Needless to say, this meal was not Paleo (but maybe semi-Paleo since it was grass-fed beef???) Oh, and we also had side of hand cut fries and onion rings 🙂

Now, fast forward to tonight.  After an awesome and sweaty Zumba class with my friend (and fab instructor), Pamela, I knew exactly what I wanted to make for dinner.  A scrumptious burger with savory toppings (hold the bun!) served with a side of baked sweet potato fries.

Paleo Burger

Makes four 4 oz. burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 lb Organic ground beef (I used Trader Joe’s Organic 85/15 ground beef – $6.49/lb)
  • Sea salt and black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • A few dashes of Worcestershire sauce
  1. Add all ingredients to a bowl, mix well.
  2. Form into 4 patties.
  3. In a skillet over medium high, drizzle olive oil and grill patties for 5 minutes on each side, or until cooked to your preference. (I like mine medium rare, so this timing was perfect)
  4. Remove from heat.
  5. Add toppings of your choice;  I added sauteed onions, sauteed mushrooms, sliced avocado, bits of uncured bacon, and a fried egg.

Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients

  • 2 medium sized sweet potatoes
  • Sea salt and black pepper
  • Olive oil
  • A few pinches of paprika
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees (F).
  2. Slice sweet potatoes into fries.
  3. Place sweet potato fries onto baking sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil, sea salt, black pepper, and paprika.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes.  It’s also helpful to check in after 10 minutes to give the sweet potatoes a good toss in the olive oil and other seasonings.
  5. Remove from heat and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “A dinner consumed in 5 minutes

Leave a Reply

