My Juicing Experience… over halfway there!

I haven’t been too busy in the kitchen lately; our kitchen was out of commission for one week, due to loss of power from Hurricane Sandy.  And the day we got our power back (this past Monday) was day 1 of my juice cleanse.  The cleanse came at the perfect time actually…  Due to no power, we were eating out a lot and eating things like chips, cookies, and Halloween candy while camping out next to the space heaters in the living room.  Not good.

A few weeks ago, I saw a Groupon for a 3 or 5 day juice cleanse from The Stand in Fairfield.  I’ve always been curious about this place.  It’s right next to my yoga studio and I always peered in as I drove by.  I’ve never gone in before, but have been meaning to check them out.  The Groupon was a really good deal, so it stimulated my interest in the juice cleanse.  I did some research and there are actually many health benefits of a juice cleanse.  There’s a lot of information out there, but I’d say my personal top 3 reasons of doing a juice cleanse are:

  1. Increased levels of energy and awareness (both mentally and physically)
  2. Reduced cravings for junk food; helps you control your cravings and what your body actually needs instead of wants
  3. It’s called a cleanse for a reason – a healthy and natural way to detoxify

What I really liked about the program that The Stand offers is that they focus on using all natural and organic products.  Many people do juice cleanses by consuming drinks made of some powder-y substance and water, which is not natural.  All of the juices that I’ve consumed thus far have been made with natural ingredients – cucumber, kale, collards, celery, avocado, lemon, lime, grapefruit, cantaloupe… to name a few.  I also decided to do the 5 day cleanse, because The Stand recommends all first time juicers to do the 5 day and then use the 3 day as maintenance in the future.

Every morning of the cleanse, I stop by The Stand to pick up a cute little 6 pack of freshly squeezed juices.  You have to consume the 16 oz. juices in a specific order and you always get a menu that outlines the ingredients used along with an explanation of the health benefits.  It’s very educational.

You can always do your own juice cleanse as long as you have a juicer and the ingredients (and the time!).  What I like about this program is that it’s super convenient.  I looked into doing the juicing myself, but then I’d have to purchase a juicer and stock up on organic ingredients…. And we all know how expensive organic produce can get.  And let’s not forget the amount of time it takes to make 6 juices for the day.

So, today, I’m on day 3 of the cleanse.  Honestly, it’s been pretty easy up until now.  I’ve been able to keep myself busy these past few days with going to the gym and yoga after work.  Surprisingly, I’ve had the energy to continue with my workout routines.  Today, I made dinner for Bjorn and that was seriously hard.  I made him Jasmine rice with pork chops marinated in Mama Sita’s BBQ marinade, and some other seasonings.  It smelled divine.  I really wanted a bite.  Actually, I’m lying.  I wanted more than a bite.  I wanted to take a bowl of rice and that whole pork chop and devour it.  But, no.  I’ve come this far and only have 2 more days left of this cleanse.  I can do it.

I’ll report back after day 5 to share my whole experience.  Since I’m a little over halfway through, I have to say that it’s been a very intriguing and educational experience.  I’m not sure I can say that I love it, but I also don’t hate it.  Some of the drinks are delicious (almond milk, lemonade – shown in pic below, cantaloupe soup, limeade), but some of the drinks are very hard to consume (green smoothie made of kale, cucumber, avocado, lemon, hemp oil, kelp).  It’s actually kind of awesome because the drinks do keep me full and I wasn’t really craving food.  The ideal situation would be to stay away from food as much as possible to lessen the temptations and cravings.  Maybe Bjorn can cook his own dinner for the rest of the week, hehe.

Alright, only 2 more days – I can do this!  To be continued…

One thought on “My Juicing Experience… over halfway there!

  1. Pingback: My Juicing Experience: Lessons Learned | A Semi-Paleo Kind of Life

Leave a Reply

