Don’t fear the Brussels sprout!

Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!  This is one of my favorite holidays… What’s better than getting together with family (or close friends) around the dinner table?  No stress, no pressure with the gifts, just fun times cooking in the kitchen and enjoying a warm and wonderful meal together.  I have so much to be thankful for this year and I will try my very best to be aware of these things throughout the year; not just on this special day.

Growing up, we never really had the traditional Thanksgiving meal.  My parents always got a turkey because it was the American thing to do, but it was never the center of attention.  Instead, our main focus was the delicious traditional Chinese meals that my mom whipped up all by herself in the kitchen.  As we grew older though and started to find our way around the kitchen, we started adding the traditional Thanksgiving side dishes to the menu – mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, stuffing, gravy, etc.

This year, my contribution to the dinner table will be Brussels sprouts with bacon.  I’ve recently been introduced to the Brussels sprout.  About a year ago, my coworkers and I were talking about food (isn’t it amazing how food just brings everyone together and that much closer?).  The topic of Brussels sprouts came up and I cringed even though I had never eaten a single sprout in my entire life.  I’m not a huge fan of cabbage and that’s what Brussels sprouts reminded me of.   And I always thought that the only way of preparing them was to steam them… blech! My coworkers were shocked that I had never had them before.  “YOU’VE NEVER HAD BRUSSELS SPROUTS BEFORE?!?”.  Needless to say, I bought  a stalk (?) the following day at Trader Joe’s and was hooked!

I know they look like weird little cabbage heads, but give this recipe a try – you will not regret it!!

Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Ingredients

  • 1 shallot, thinly sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minched
  • 1 stalk of Brussels sprouts (about 35 sprouts), halved
  • 4 slices of uncured bacon, cut into 1/4″ bits
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt & black pepper
  1. In a large pan, over medium to high heat, drizzle olive oil.  Add the shallots and garlic and saute until they turn a golden color.
  2. Add bacon and cook for another 5 minutes or so, until the bacon gets nice and crispy.
  3. Throw in the Brussels sprouts, season with sea salt and black pepper, and saute for another 10 minutes, until tender.  It also helps to add about 1/4 cup of water while cooking to add moisture to the Brussels sprouts.  You want the Brussels sprouts to get a nice golden crisp on the edges.

 

Leave a Reply

