Yam Flour Pasta? Worth a try, I guess!

No pasta on the Paleo diet so I’ve had to find substitutes.  I’ve cooked with spaghetti squash which is pretty good.  I want to make zucchini spaghetti next, but I have to purchase one of these first!  A few months ago, I came across this deal on Groupon for a product called Nooodle.  It’s a pasta made out of yam flour – gluten free, soy free, guilt free!  Thought I’d give it a try.

DSC01630DSC01634

It’s an interesting consistency… Kind of chewy, kind of soft, kind of strange at first, but you get used to it. 🙂  For comparison purposes, I’d say it’s pretty close to a rice vermicelli (like the noodles they use in the Vietnamese dish, Pho).  I’ve made this in a few different ways – chicken “nooodle” soup and in a meat sauce.  I think I’m going to try some sort of stir fry next!

Meat Sauce with Veggies

Ingredients

  • 1 lb organic ground beef
  • 1/2 zucchini, sliced
  • 6 oz mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 12 oz tomato sauce
  • 1 package of Nooodle pasta (or spaghetti squash)
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt and black pepper

Directions

  1. Drizzle olive oil in a large skillet over medium to high heat.
  2. Add in onions and garlic and saute for 3-4 minutes.
  3. Add ground beef and brown for an additional 8-10 minutes, or until cooked through.
  4. Toss in the zucchini and mushrooms.  Cook for an additional 5-6 minutes, until veggies are tender.  Season with sea salt and black pepper.
  5. Add tomato sauce.  Turn the heat to low and simmer for a few minutes.
  6. Prepare the Nooodle pasta separetely (follow directions on package).  Once complete, mix in well with the meat sauce and enjoy!

photo

4 thoughts on “Yam Flour Pasta? Worth a try, I guess!

Leave a Reply

