Warning: This Post Contains a lot of Red and Pink.

Hoops_and_Yoyo_by_Smucked

 

Happy Valentine’s Day!!!!!

I rushed home from work tonight to get home and prepare dinner.  I had a lot to do.  On the menu for tonight was grilled lamb chops and mashed cauliflower.  I also wanted to be ambitious and make a nice Valentine’s day dessert.  I bought these cake pans from Target last year (at like 90% off!) after Valentine’s day.  I was excited to try it out.

valentinecake

But, as you can see from the photos below, I’m really not a baker… I belong in the kitchen, but only to prepare savory dishes.  Tonight’s dessert is brought you by Ms. Betty Crocker herself!  I love using pre-made cake/cookie mix.  It’s SO easy!  It’s also nice to use some alternative ingredients to lower the amount of calories. Next time, try replacing the amount of oil with plain greek yogurt or applesauce.  And instead of using the whole egg, just use the egg whites!

Here’s a photo of the almost ready red velvet cakes in the oven…. (oops…)

IMG_0975

Once done, remove from cake molds and let cool.  Fill the cavities with icing (I used whipped cream because I wanted it to be a lighter dish, but it’s not as dense as icing, so it’s kind of sinking…), stack together, slice, and enjoy!

DSC02332

 

 

Leave a Reply

