There’s Always Room for Dessert

We canceled cable TV about a week ago.  We realized that 1) we were watching a lot of shows that we could either stream online for a very low cost (Netflix, Hulu Plus) or for free and 2) we could cut our monthly bill by more than 50%.  I was doing okay without it during the week since my schedule is so busy anyway: work, come home and cook dinner, eat, relax, shower, bed.  Repeat Mon thru Fri.  I was out and about yesterday, so no big deal either.  But today, we did our weekly cleaning around the house and then I was bored.  I didn’t know what to do.  It was super windy (and cold) outside today, so I was feeling lazy and didn’t feel like doing anything or going anywhere.  And I didn’t want to go shopping because I didn’t want to spend money!  And then, no cable TV, which means no playing catch up on the recorded shows on the DVR.  So, long story short, now that we don’t have cable, I’ve been spending that much more time in the  kitchen.

I had a box of ripe strawberries sitting in the fridge.  Why not morph them into chocolate covered strawberries with some fantastic light whipped cream from Stew Leonard’s?!

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Makes 16

Ingredients

  •  16 strawberries
  • 12 oz of 70% cacao chocolate, chopped
  1. Wash strawberries, place in an airtight container and freeze for an hour.
  2. In a double boiler, melt the chopped chocolate pieces.  I do not own a double boiler, so I filled a small pot, about 1/4 full with water.  I added the chopped chocolate pieces to a glass mixing bowl.  Once the water begins to boil, place the glass mixing bowl on top and continue to stir the chocolate pieces until melted.  Note that the glass mixing bowl should not touch the boiling water in the pot.  Here’s a picture of my “double boiler” – works quite well!DSC02340
  3. When the chocolate has melted, dip the strawberries one by and one and coat evenly.  Place on wax paper and let cool for 10 minutes.  Place in fridge to save for later, or serve with a side of light whipped cream.  Yum!

DSC02356

Leave a Reply

