Sorry Potato…. You Lose Again!

First of all (not a food related thought), I’m so pissed that we couldn’t watch the Oscars last night.  (Canceled cable TV a few weeks ago)  I searched everywhere trying to find how to stream it online, but all of the links I found either lead to a dead end or some spam website.  Ugh!!

The amount of cooking I did this past weekend was insane; yep, you guessed it… as a result of no cable TV.  It’s not that we spend our weekends glued to the couch, but we’ll generally spend some time catching up on our DVR-ed shows and then feel lazy and end up going out to eat or getting take out.  I know this whole “no cable TV” thing is good and definitely liberating, I just need to get used to it.  A negative was missing the Oscars, but a MAJOR positive was going to hot yoga TWO TIMES this weekend!!

Last night, I made bunless turkey burgers (pretty simple – ground turkey, mixed with chopped onions, minced garlic, a dash of worcestershire sauce, and some sea salt and black pepper.  Grill over medium to high heat for about 7 minutes on each side) with parsnip fries.  Oh, parsnips, how I love thee!  Between parsnips and cauliflower, I’m pretty sure I’m ready to just let go of my relationship with potatoes.  I’m not kidding.

Parsnip Fries

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 large parsnips
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt
  • Black pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (F).
  2. Scrub and peel parsnips.  Cut into “french fry” shaped strips.  Arrange on baking sheet in a single layer.
  3. Drizzle olive oil, sea salt, and black pepper.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes until nice and crispy.

DSC02402

Leave a Reply

