Raw Almonds with a Makeover

Raw almonds are so delicious.  I much prefer them over salted almonds… there’s something about the raw almond that tastes so natural and wholesome.  I usually make my own trail mix snack; it’s more cost efficient and I also get to add what I like into it!  Raw almonds, pistachios, raisins, dried cranberries, dried mango, some dark cacao nibs – yum!  I love it, but sometimes you need to spice it up a bit. (Enter first a-ha! moment for today’s recipe.)

During a meeting for work last week, we got to talking about our personal diets and eating healthy.  It was so interesting to hear about everyone’s personal health experiences – we had a Vegan, a Gluten intolerant individual, a woman preparing for her upcoming wedding (so many juices in the mix), and a fellow Paleo-er!!  I loved sharing our foodie stories over lunch, especially those that involved the wonderful cauliflower and almond!  We talked about a recipe for dates which sounded so good, though I’ve never had dates before… I bought dates this weekend at Trader Joe’s and will report back on that one.  We also talked about a simple and easy oven roasted almond recipe.  This was perfect since I was geting a little bit bored with my usual trail mix.  (Enter second a-ha! moment for today’s recipe.)

Oven Roasted Almonds with Sea Salt and Rosemary

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of raw almonds
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh rosemary, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).
  2. Place all ingredients into a mixing bowl and toss well.
  3. Lay almonds onto a baking sheet.  Bake for 8-10 minutes.

DSC02423

Leave a Reply

