Family Traditions

The time I’ve spent in the kitchen these past years is ever-evolving.  I’ve cooked Paleo dishes (inspiration to this blog), Asian dishes (Chinese, Filipino, Vietnamese), vegetarian dishes, Vegan dishes… I enjoy it all.  The funny thing is that  I actually never enjoyed cooking while growing up.  I liked helping out here and there, but left most of the cooking up to mom (she even packed my lunch for work when I was living at home and working after college…).  One of my favorite childhood memories is making wontons with my dad.  It didn’t happen too often, but when it did, it was really exciting and I always loved helping out.  My dad would mix the meat filling and we’d all gather around the small wooden table in the kitchen, grab a spoon, and start wrapping the wontons!  We had to make enough for dinner for the family and always made extra batches to freeze.

I was at H-Mart the other weekend with my dad and came across the wonton wrappers.  This immediately triggered the memory of making these together with dad.  I tossed the wonton wrappers to my cart and gathered additional ingredients for the wontons.  I made them for dinner that night and made an extra batch to freeze (just like what my parents would do).  Bjorn and I enjoyed them, but the true test will be what my parents think.  I’m planning to make the frozen batch for my parents when they come over next time.

Wontons

Makes approximately 50 wontons

Ingredients

Filling:

  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 10 medium shrimps, peeled and deveined, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 (5 oz.) can of sliced water chestnuts, rinsed, drained, and diced
  • 1 tablespoon, sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon, oyster sauce
  • 1 teaspoon, soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon, salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon, sugar

Other:

  • 1 (16 oz.) pack of wonton wrappers
  • 6 cups, chicken broth
  • 1 scallion stalk, chopped
  1. For the filling, add all ingredients into a large mixing bowl.  Mix well.
  2. To make the wontons, lay the wonton wrapper in front of you, so it resembles a diamond shape.  Using a small spoon, scoop about a teaspoon of the filling and place in the middle of the wonton wrapper.  Fold the top corner to the bottom corner to make a triangle.  Press firmly around the filling to seal the wonton.  Fold left and right sides downward – the final product will sort of resemble a nun and her hat, haha (see photo).IMG_6499
  3. In a large pot, over medium high heat, bring chicken broth to a boil.  Add wontons in (about 10 at a time) and cook each batch for about 5 minutes.
  4. Serve as wonton soup or over noodles.  Add chopped scallion for garnish.

DSC03011 DSC03018

Leave a Reply

